Minnesota DWI Bail Bonds
Defendants who are charged with driving under the influence are often given the option of being placed on an alcohol-monitoring device, in lieu of posting bail, to secure their release from custody. Sometimes, the court orders the monitoring device without input from the defendant.
The law is clear that if a defendant wishes to discontinue the monitoring device, Goldberg Bail Bonds can work with the defendant to post a bond.
There may be several reasons why a defendant would want to, or even need to discontinue the monitoring device. A defendant may find that the cost of the program is prohibitive. The initial rental cost of the monitoring device varies by county- and can range from $140 to $214! In addition, there is a daily fee of $10 to $15 (varies by county), for the 4 to 6 months it takes to complete the court case. This could cost you $1300 to $2900!
Another reason that you may need to post bond is that you may find that the concentrated monitoring schedule conflicts with their employment. Finally, some defendants feel that the monitoring device is unjust, because it equates to serving a sentence before a conviction of the charge.
On a gross-misdemeanor, even if you initially agreed to the monitoring program we can still relieve you of this burden through a court order. In Minnesota, you are entitled to post $12,000 for unconditional bail. Even at ten-percent, this bail may be better than the monitoring program. If you have an attorney, we can work with them by going to see a judge in your county and have them agree to the order.
What is a Minnesota DWI?
According to the House Legislature it is illegal to drive operate, or be in control of any motor vehicle while you are under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance, a hazardous substance. You can also be charged with a DWI in Minnesota by having an alcohol concentration of .08, having any amount of metabolites or controlled substance in the body, or if you happen to be driving a commercial vehicle than you can’t have an alcohol concentration of .04 or more. A Minnesota DWI can also be charged when you refuse to submit to a test.
What happens when I’am charged?
Minnesota DWI ‘s are charged by a citation, a tab charge when you are booked into jail, or a complaint is prepared by the prosecutor after your arrest. According to the State Legislator, unless you post the maximum bail- $12,000 in the case of a Gross Misdemeanor DWI, you are subject to conditions such as Electronic Alcohol Monitoring programs. If you test positive for consumption you could hurt your case.
What could happen if I’m convicted?
First, let’s be honest here: we are NOT attorneys and all information that we are providing is through 100 years of experience and heavy research through Minnesota’s State Legislature, as well as the Minnesota Rules of Court.
If you are a second time Minnesota DWI offender within ten years you could face 30 days in jail at a MINIMUM. Your minimum sentence will be at least 48 hours served in the jail or workhouse. You also have to participate in at least eight hours of community service for each day served.
On your third Minnesota DWI offense within ten years you could serve 90 days in jail at a minimum, and 30 of them have to be served at the workhouse consecutively.
On your fourth Minnesota DWI offense within ten your you could serve 180 days at a minimum, and 30 days must also be served consecutively in a jail or workhouse.
If you are convicted for a fifth time in a Minnesota DWI you could serve 1 year at a minimum, and 60 days must be served consecutively in a local jail or workhouse.
However, your attorney can negotiate all of these sentences. Goldberg Bail Bonds works closely with lawyers throughout the state of Minnesota. While we do not recommend a specific Minnesota Criminal Lawyer, we can help you find those who specialize in specific areas of the law. For 100 years we have taken great pride in fostering relationships throughout the State’s legal system, including those with Minnesota Criminal Lawyers.